​​   The   Guardian Center, Inc.

In 1996, volunteers realized the need for a child advocacy center for abused children and their families for southeastern Illinois.  In 1997, a group attended the Illinois Attorney General’s 1997 Capitol Conference to obtain information about establishing a center and a start-up grant from Illinois DCFS was received.  Advisory boards were formed in 1998 to develop protocols for agency responses to abuse cases a Program Development Grant through the National Network of Child Advocacy Centers enabled space to be leased near the courthouse.  The Guardian Center received its 501c3 incorporation on 7-30-98, and became registered as a Charitable Organization. 

In 1999, The Guardian Center, Inc. began interviewing children and providing advocacy services for families experiencing sexual abuse.  Services expanded in 2000 to include Edwards and Wabash Counties and again in 2003 to serve families experiencing physical abuse.  


In September of 2014, the main office of The Guardian Center moved to a new permanent home at 1124 Oak Street, Carmi, IL.

Meet Our Staff


Rich Zirkelbach, Gallatin Co - President                    Debbie Hoskins, White Co- Treasurer                  Pamela Haywood. White Co                  

Amy McCarty, Edwards Co                                          Austin Rahmoeller, Edwards Co                                          
                                                          
Carrie Hammell, White Co                                           Gwen Basinger, MDT

The Guardian Center, Inc.

 

Founded: 1999

 

Areas of expertise: 
Providing services to children under the age of 18 who are victims of physical and sexual abuse. 

Company Profile

Our History

Sheryl Woodham, Executive Director 
swoodham@theguardiancenter.org 

Carmeta Bingman, Office Manager
bingman@theguardiancenter.org 

Nicole Bradfield, Program Assistant/Advocate Caseworker
nbradfield@theguardiancenter.org 

Krystal Hicks, Advocate Case Worker
khicks@theguardiancenter.org


Mistie McQueen, Advocate Caseworker

​mmcqueen@healingharborcac.org

Teresa Miller, Project Director

​tmiller@healingharborcac.org


Katharine Bovenkerk, Prevention Specialist/ Forensic Interviewer
kbovenkerk@theguardiancenter.org 



Board of Directors